Week 13 // Last Class – New Vision?

Speaking with Jo about my previous week’s iterations and idea brainstorming, it was apparent that my play on words with the UN article 14 is still very dreary – in terms of stimulation. I think that handwriting different versions of the same text is easily overlooked, especially within a gallery space setting, that’s why I need more of a vision to come to life. The situation of the matter which was going to be present on top of the drum, bouncing with the sound was still unclear and at this point I think it is unnecessary. I have been thinking about its lack of purpose for quite some time but held onto it because it was so well received in the first iteration though it had no real point than to make the projection visible.

Jo recommended that I look at the works of Tokyo-based artist KEN MATSUBARA. His works encompass the same sort of elements that I deal with and that this particular work is working towards. These elements include the subtle and powerful nature of his composed moving images and how he generates them through beautifully built installations and screen-works. I needed more life in my work, something that tells a story without punching you in the face. Jo has pointed out an aspect of his work that I have grown very fond of –  Paper In The Wind: 

The paper is fluctuating in the air without ever floating away or falling to the ground. At the same time as the state of our heart that I keep fluctuating slowly uncertainly and but is shown. As in Buddhism, all things are connected “engi”. The paper is shaken by the wind, and we can see the wind because of the paper.

[VIDEO HERE]

This reinforced a passing thought/vision of painting the surface of the drum black to then make the projection of my content to be bold and clear. I would film my story in a way that was animated and would play with the surface of the drum and also the quaking nature from the sound. I always appreciated simplistic works and I think eliminating the distracting factors that would dance upon the drum refined the simple aesthetic. I was originally thinking of writing out the text where I would then use wind to disturb the paper and blow it away, this option was okay, but still did not fulfil my desire to create a meaningful piece. It was still the same writing, just on an unstable piece of paper. I have since been working on an illustration that I want to bring to life, when ever I would make a decision as a child I would go outside, pick a Daisy flower and pick off the petals alternating between YES and NO. Rather than just text, I think that if composed with a degree of care, this could be a turning point for my piece.

23472396_10212203639461030_6119752952798961876_n

[ The animated image would showcase the petals being plucked one by one ]

 

Leave a comment